Our District Team

As a large and diverse District supporting our groups and delivering effective, challenging and exciting programmes for Young People requires a dedicated District Team.

The management of our District works through a support structure that operates to ensure our groups, and ultimately Young People have everything they need to experience a quality Scout Programme, the team are dedicated to ensuring our leaders have the support they need to be effective in their role whilst compliant with the operational requirements of the Scout Association..

District Leadership Team

The District Leadership Team is responsible for supporting and communicating Scouting within Northampton, it sets the strategic direction of the District and ensures the best quality Scouting possible is available to our volunteers and our Young People.

District Commissioner Ian R Malcomson
Deputy District Commissioner (Group Support) Sue Robinson-Smith
Deputy District Commissioner (Programme) position vacant
District Youth Commissioner Liam Claris
District Scout Network Commissioner Ben Ousley
District Scout Network Commissioner Ian Rivett
District Explorer Scout Commissioner Matt Ager
Assistant District Commissioner (Squirrels) Vicky Ager
Assistant District Commissioner (Beavers) position vacant
Assistant District Commissioner (Cubs) Tracey Bates
Assistant District Commissioner (Scouts) Sammi Betts
Assistant District Commissioner (Inclusion) Rebekah Malcomson-Smith

District Support Team

The District Support Team is responsible for the smooth administration of the district functions.  It also includes our Scout Active Support Unit Managers who are responsible for delivering and supporting elements of Scouting within the District.

District Explorer Scout Administrator Gill Walker
District Activities Administrator Carol Halliday
Gang Show Manager position Vacant
Asset Manager – Overstone Scout Campsite & Activity Centre Malcolm Dyer
Asset Manager – Yr Hen Felin Steve Layt
Asset Manager – Fernie Fields position vacant
Asset Manager – Scout Shop Chris Robinson-Smith
Scout Band Manager Sue Graystone
Local Training Manager Pennie Crow
Adult Awards Panel Chair Lee Jones
Technology Manager Gary Jackson
Trailer Bookings Manager Ian R Malcomson
Chair of the Appointments Committee Elaine Farr
District Appointments Secretary Jan Brooker

The District Trustee Board

The Trustee Board exists to support the District Commissioner in meeting the responsibilities of the appointment and to provide support for Scout Groups, Explorer Scout Units and the Scout Network in the District.

The Board is made up of:

District Chair Mike Billingham
District Treasurer Caroline Lomas
District Secretary Jan Brooker
Ex Officio DC Ian R Malcomson
Ex Officio DSNC Ben Ousley
Ex Officio DESC Matt Ager
Trustee (Elected) Chris Gyles
Trustee (Elected) Ian Claris
Trustee (Elected) Esther Phillips
Trustee (Elected) Elaine Farr
Trustee (Elected) Gary Jackson
Co-Opt (Finance Officer) Stephen Humphrey
Co-Opt (Land Liaison) David Shrewsbury
Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls